Block and restrict direct messages

Blocking stops another member from direct messaging you. See what changes, what stays visible in the group, and how to unblock later.

On Heylo, members have control over who can send them direct messages. Any member can block another member.

Blocked members

  • Any existing direct message conversation is deleted when blocked, and no new direct message conversation can be initiated.
  • Blocks do not apply to group activities. For example, members can still see messages and event attendance in the group.
  • Blocked members cannot direct messages.
  • No notifications are sent to the person who was blocked.
  • For further unwanted or inappropriate activity, consider selecting Report.

How to block and unblock

  • To block a member, navigate to their profile and select “Block”
  • To unblock a member, navigate to their profile and press the three-dot menu to select “Unblock”

Related articles

Still need help?

Contact us and we typically reply within one business day. Or message us in Heylo Support chat.